Fear of Change

I am a certified personal trainer, nutrition and lifestyle coach (should I capitalize each word there?!).

I am also a certified worry wort.

Living in the USA, being a transplant from the Northern reaches, commonly called Canada, puts me in somewhat of a pickle. You see, I am currently on what is called “permanent resident” status and with conditions, to boot! (The word “boot” said with the funny accent us Cannucks seem to have…) All kidding aside, I hold no solid footing here in the United States of America until all my documents have gone through, pass the tests, put in the work and pay the price. I am still a work in progress.

Last week I addressed some mental health topics on my Facebook feed. (Since returning to the world of health & fitness after getting my green card after moving to the USA, I also rekindled my love of writing about wellness. I started regularly posting, and focusing on a certain topic each week, related fitness, exercise, self-empowerment, nutrition, dogs and red wine.) I am aware that I didn’t post often or maybe not enough. I could have posted more, but you know what? That’s where my life coach skills have kicked in and said, “It’s okay. No one is judging you. Be authentic, Nat. Post when you are ready to.”

Think of this blog as an important after-thought about mental illness, or, better yet, think of it as one of those “a-ha” moments you hear about on Oprah, and it addresses change.

It is SO exciting for me to be back into the health and wellness world! I LOVE LOVE FREAKING LOVE being a certified personal trainer again. I love coaching proper technique, form and adding challenges to what folks are doing in the gym as well as in their everyday life. Selfishly speaking, I get off on hearing someone telling me that I’ve helped them. I get my jollies when I see someone understand that eating carbs is not only okay, but necessary to basic metabolic function. I love knowing that I’ve given clients something to think about, a new exercise that floats their boat, a way of looking at posture that rocks their world or a different way of hitting their dreaded (insert body part) workout. I f’ing love it.

Change sucks.

Change is uncomfortable for the majority of the population. Whether you are talking about health and fitness, or maybe you’re talking about a new job, a new relationship, a new pair of shoes or a new government. I get it! Two years ago, I experienced some serious change: new country, new friends, new gym, new doctors, new currency, new marriage, new routine, new city, new politics…. Freaking new reality in pretty much every way. It was ugly, frustrating, and scary and I fought it like a mad grizzly bear fighting over the last PB and J sandwich in October before the snow flies. (Oh… right. For those of you who are not familiar with that kind of anger, let me promise you that it’s MAD-ugly-gonna-eat-your-face-off-ugly.)

How do we deal with change?

Well, here is what I learned to ask myself: How flexible can I be? How open am I to creating a new reality? Can I re-frame my way of thinking? Give yourself permission to be vulnerable. Be willing to look at things from a point of view that may be totally alien. Ask for support and lean on those around you who have your best interests and wellness in mind. Be prepared to articulate exactly what you want or need from others: it may be all messy and not clear at first, but by practicing asking what you need, you will get better at it. Remind yourself that you can adapt. You are not made out of concrete or steel so yah… you WILL adapt since you are made of flesh, blood, a brain, a heart and a spirit (religion or not, you have some more to you than just a body).

Keep it simple, Stupid! K.I.S.S. Gotta love that expression and acronym. Keeping it simple, in my experience dealing with personal tragedies, trauma and generally difficult time, has kept me sane and kept my feet on the ground. If you’re trying to lose weight, add more greens to your diet, break that PR dead lift, conquer breast cancer, figure out your relationship issues or train your dog to pee outside and not on the dam rug, keep it simple. Consider the changes that are necessary, practice those that are in your power and control, and take it one day or one change at a time.

You are capable of change. You are capable of hope.

Thanks for reading.

Nat

2 thoughts on “Fear of Change

  1. Hi Nat, I love your picture above. Where was this taken ? When was this taken ? Who took the picture ? You appear to have stop momentarily on a side of the road without grass where people make U-turn. You seem to be in deep contemplation about the origin of life or the nature of the Universe, hah, hah. I know you are not thinking and have no intention of turning around since your gazed seems to be over the horizon and into the future. Like I said, I learned from that guy what he learned from his Dad: laugh at yourself and do not always take yourself seriously; be good at what you do; and be good and fair with people.

    Like

Leave a Reply

